Grocery Shopping For the Hangry Type A Shopper On a Budget

Admit it. You have gone shopping while hangry (so hungry you are now angry). That list of “just 4 or 5 things” has turned into a gelato buffet, complete with cheetos, and microwave popcorn. And yes, you bought a half ham. It was on sale. Don’t judge me for the sushi, the doughnuts, and the rotisserie chicken either. Yes, I know I have a meal in a crockpot waiting at home. But we aren’t home right now, are we?

While I can understand the sentiment of it being on sale, and I might have been describing my last trip to HEB here in Texas, having a list and sticking to it is truly the best way to prevent turning your freezer into what looks like Thanksgiving Dinner threw up in the middle of July.

I’ve seen lots of methods to shopping. Hell, I’ve been followed in stores and asked about my methods of shopping which, can typically be described as Type A with hangry tendencies. For a while there, I made it my personal goal to fill my wine cabinet by the end of grocery shopping. Problem was, I didn’t have a wine cabinet. I had a wine rack. Which, mind you, was already full, with an overflow waiting area for the cabinet which, is still not finished being built. Why am I mentioning this? Two reasons. One, Corey, if you are reading this, we have reached the 6 week mark of the wine cabinet being a work in progress. If the cabinet is still not done…look at the time stamp. Two, because shopping with a purpose is only good, when you both REMEMBER the purpose and actually FOLLOW THE PURPOSE. The idea is get in, get your things, and get out. Remember that. You have a set amount of money you have budgeted. Now, budget your time as well.

Everyone has their own method to the mayhem that is shopping at multiple stores because no one store carries everything you need. If you are a couponer, I can almost guarantee that you have multiple stores to shop at. I had noticed in my searches that grocery lists can tend to be a matter of personal preference. That said, I never found one like the one I was writing over and over again myself. So, ask and ye shall receive!

If you are wondering if the list is formatted to fit the MAMBI Happy Planner, you would be correct. If you don’t have this amazing planner, I’m going to need you to remedy this situation at your nearest Hobby Lobby, or Michaels. Or go here and order it online. (Remember your 40% off coupon at Hobby Lobby)

Download your shopping list here – mambi template grocery list by store

mambi template grocery list by store

If you are interested in getting a copy of this spreadsheet without the Store 1, Store 2 etc, shoot me an email from my contact us page to join our mailing list (monthly, no one has time to read my blog and emails daily) , and I’ll gladly format it for your and send away!

I have found, especially when shopping with coupons, this format helps. If I have coupons, I highlight the box. I color code my highlighting, so that if it’s a rebate on Ibotta (if you don’t have Ibotta, sign up using that link to get $10 on me!), or a paper coupon, a digital coupon, etc, then I know what to pair up to my list for that store. It saves SOO much time at the register. And your cashier will love you for having that taken care of. Really wanting to go overboard with your organization? Bonus points if you check out my post on Stockpiling your couponing efforts and using both sheets 🙂 Click here for that one.

And lastly, pack a snack. No one likes a hangry shopper.

Putting back at least two pints of gelato,

Heather

 

 

Leave a comment